Skip to main content

CBE JU’s Scientific Committee is established

Publication date:
31 March 2022

15 members of the newly appointed CBE JU’s Scientific Committee held their first meeting today to elect the advisory body’s Chair and Vice-Chair and agree on the rules of procedure.

Dr Helena Vieira was elected Chair and Dr Piergiuseppe Morone Vice-Chair of the Scientific Committee for a term of two years.

‘I warmly congratulate Dr Vieira and Dr Morone on taking up these new roles,’ said CBE JU Executive Director Philippe Mengal during today’s meeting. ‘The Scientific Committee is crucial in ensuring that strategic decisions about CBE JU are made based on sound and up-to-date scientific knowledge,’ he added.

Role of the Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is one of the advisory bodies of CBE JU. Its role is to provide scientific advice and recommendations on the operations and programme implementation of CBE JU, as well as on key strategic and programming documents, such as the Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda, draft annual work plans and annual activity reports. The Scientific Committee may also issue recommendations on other measures taken to address specific objectives of the initiative.  

The Scientific Committee is key to achieve a successful CBE JU programme implementation and to ensure that the key strategic and programming documents include all relevant scientific and multidisciplinary considerations, incorporate breakthrough-promising technologies and contribute to positive societal impacts while ensuring a sustainable and efficient management of natural renewable resources.

Members of the Scientific Committee also act as CBE JU ambassadors, helping to increase the visibility of the programme within the scientific community and to reach out to key bioeconomy actors across and beyond the EU.

Members of the Scientific Committee

Collectively, members of the Scientific Committee demonstrate strong expertise and competence to make science-based recommendations to the CBE JU. They are appointed by the CBE JU’s Governing Board based on their qualifications and do not represent any country or entity.

This is also a well-balanced group of world-known experts. Its 15 members come from Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, the Netherlands and Spain. 47% of the 15 members are women.